Stoma pain after fall - seeking advice

Replies
Views
Kaylakaykes

Hey guys,

So a bit random. I was playing with a kitten the other night. I completely forgot about my stoma and threw myself on the ground. Front side down. Now my stoma hurts really badly when I sit up, laugh, get out of the car or anything that really involves much movement that isn't walking. I think it's bruised internally but I've no idea. I've also had a really bad headache in the center of my head ever since. It's located almost where my sinuses are. I'm not sure if they're related at all. I was wondering what I should do about either/both? I've only had the stoma for 4 months so am very new to this.

Any advice, even if it's just to wait it out, is welcomed.

mild_mannered_super_hero

I'm no medical expert, but I don't believe the stoma has the ability to feel pain. It has no nerves. The pain you are feeling is most likely from the abdominal area around the stoma. If you're only a few months post-op, you may have just strained your surgery site. I would try a little ice and see if this helps any inflammation to your abdominal muscles. If you experience any other problems, I would seek professional medical help. Good luck and be extra careful!

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,460 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member