Gas troubles: Seeking advice on diet and irrigation

Replies
Views
CATSnDOGS

Hi again...

As I said in my first post to this site, I want to reach out to members now with some general and some specific questions in follow-up posts.

To start with, I have some questions/comments of a fairly general nature. (With my next post, probably a much longer one, I have a bunch of questions re: the subject of irrigation). And so, like...

Topic: Gas!

Yeah, I never, EVER thought that I would on some message board post some note about my having "gas", how much, what others think and do about it, etc.!!! Geez! Ah, such is life now I guess...

Well, I have been wearing a two-piece Hollister New Image setup for around 8 months since after my surgery. It has a built-in filter which is supposed to let the gas out. I dunno, but it sure doesn't seem to work all that well. The bag fills up with gas a lot and then quite often when you expel it, the bag just fills up all over again.

Now I know, many of you reading this might want to quickly point out to me that "it's the diet" - that if I just make some adjustments in my diet that the level of gas output might go way down. The problem really is I don't want to! I think I have a reasonably good diet (but lots of things that are known to cause excess gas such as veggies, grains, legumes, etc.), i.e. I like what I eat and think that making dietary changes would be just changing one problem for another, assuming that my nutrition choices are reasonably good ones.

So my first questions are: 1) Do any of you follow a similar diet and do NOT have a major problem with gas output? and 2) If so, do you just have a better metabolism or did you find some product or other changes that made things better for you?