Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Support | Friendship | Relationships
26,431 members

White waxy substance

Wed Oct 06, 2021 4:33 pm
"This is the best website for people with an Ostomy, hands down. So much understanding. Everyone should join."

Lately I'm seing white waxy looking ring around outer part of my stoma. Twice now in the last week. 1st time I thought it happened because using too much deodorant lubrication. I can break this ring off through the outside bag and push it towards the outlet. I cut down on amount of lube and it seemed fine. Now it's back again and I know I used very little lubricant. It's happened after new bag put on. Has anyone else encountered this? Do I need to call doctor? I've only had ostomy since July 26th. I'm new at this. 
I read online it's mucus? But why it look like wax? Is it from pancaking? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:49 pm

Hi Mamasan,