Seeking Gastric Dermatologist for Persistent Skin Issue

Replies
Views
freedancer

Do any of you know if there is such a thing as a gastric dermatologist? I've been battling a skin issue under my barrier since June of 2022. It is itchy, red, raw, and blistering. I have tried several treatments and it just is not clearing up. I have spoken to my general physician and have seen my stoma nurse. My GP will no longer follow through with me and my stoma nurse stated if the silver skin patches did not work that I have to see a dermatologist. The picture on here is what I am dealing with. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

w30bob

Hi Free,

Yikes!! Well, I'm no doctor... see, I can't even spell it right! But if I had to bet a paycheck... I'd say you've got impetigo. The flaccid blister and the denuded skin give it away. Basically, it's an infection caused by either Staph or Streptococcus. I'm surprised your ostomy nurse didn't catch it. You need a doctor or dermatologist to swab for a culture and have it sent to the lab to nail down the exact organism that's ruining your days. Once they know the culprit, they can get you on the right antibiotic for a week or two and get that mess cleared up. Until you get to the doctor, I'd wipe the area with an antiseptic wipe and let it sit on your skin for as long as you can before you put on your new barrier. More frequent barrier changes, so you can do the antiseptic wipe (or wash) would be what I'd do until I got to the doctor. If I'm right, you'll be good as new in no time... once they figure out the bad actor.

;O)

Bob

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,435 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.