Dealing with Poop Leakage Under Barrier Ring

Replies
Views
Osto

I have a colostomy and I use barrier rings with a convex wafer. Poop keeps getting under the barrier ring. I have a belly, when I stand up I think my fat is pushing the wafer and the ring away from my skin. When I stand up without a colostomy bag on my stoma, my stoma is almost completely covered by my fat. Has anyone else had this issue and figured out a resolution?

weewee

Yes, I have your problem.

Coloplast came out with a new wafer. It fits my round belly and seals really well. But I still get it to leak because of how I am twisting or the weather. But it's better than Hollister because they were built for a flat surface. I had been wearing Hollister for 12 years. I was changing a lot more depending on the day. Coloplast just came out with (Sensura Mio Convex Flip Ostomy Barrier and Sensura Mio Click Ostomy Pouch) about 1 year ago. I have had better luck since I am not Mr. Abs or Mr. Six Pack. I am more built like a keg, so my ostomy nurse asked me to try these. They worked way better. Plus, they also have a better support belt. I have the largest they make, which is a 4xlarge. It holds your barrier better because you can cut to fit and it doesn't roll up like many others did on me.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,465 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

w30bob

Hi Osto,