My First Time: A Journey of Challenges and Triumphs

Replies
Views
farmwife

This is my first time for many things. Life can throw you many curves, hopefully I can keep bending with them.

My journey began in Feb. 2010 when I discovered blood in my stool. I waited 7 months and finally got called for a colonoscopy (I called many times to see what was taking so long). Oct 2010 the surgeon told me I had a tumor in my rectum very low, was sent for a CT scan that same day. Not sure but I think that he took a biopsy at the time of colonoscopy. Thanksgiving weekend found out tumor was cancerous but no cancer in other organs (whew). Now the waiting game again as surgeon wants an MRI done (should be in within 2 weeks) 6 weeks later after many calls get appointment.

Jan 2011 start oral chemo and 28 treatments of radiation to shrink tumor. After a bit of recovery and more appointments had surgery (abdomino Perineal bowel resection). Was not prepared for that one. I came out with a permanent colostomy because it was very low and had to take the muscle. But cancer is gone. Thank you. Just started getting to the stoma and all that goes with it when they tell me I have to take more chemo (precautionary). As of now, I have one more treatment.

I have been having a bit of problems with my colostomy staying on. Have not gone back to see ostomy nurse because of the chemo my output changes, but when I am finished chemo and feeling better I am going.

Just wanted to say thank you to all on this site has lifted my spirits from time to time and there is good advice from all.

Thank you!!! Keep up the good work to all

DH