Decision

Replies
Views
Okay

Hi,  I have a loop ileostomy and would really appreciate advice on whether to have a reversal or not. Gina

Mysterious Mose

Since you have a loop ileostomy, I assume your colon is intact. If that is the case, your changes are better for a reversal. But, not perfect. Since I have an end ileostomy and no colon at all, I decided against a reversal. So, I have no first hand experience to relate. The problem with reversals is that everyone is different. What works for one person may not for another. If your colon is properly healed and your anal muscles are still strong, you may have good results. Are you doing your pelvic floor exercises? They are important to keep those muscles strong. Personally, if I were as young as you and had a complete and (hopefully) healthy colon and it was within a year of the ileostomy surgery, I may opt for a reversal. Sorry if this is not overly helpful. Having a reversal is a difficult decision. What does your surgeon say?

Daniel

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,579 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Morning glory

Gather all the information  that you can by researching.  Pros and cons. Talk to your Doctors and make an informed  decision. Good luck.

Morning glory

Gather all the information  that you can by researching.  Pros and cons. Talk to your Doctors and make an informed  decision. Good luck.

aTraveler

Okay this is a decision that is dependent on the individual. You need to have a heart-to-heart talk with your surgeon. Ask questions such as: