Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Support | Friendship | Relationships
28,955 members
Next >

Meat trouble

This is the best website for people with an Ostomy. So much understanding.
Hi this is my first time on here, just wondering if antone has troouble when they eat any meat. when i have a meal with meat my output is so liquid i have to empty my bag so often (7 times in the space of 3 hours) I take imodium to try and slow it down but this takes ages to work does anyone have any tips please i have an ileostomy 5 years

I don't have that issue with meat, but I do with eggs.  I would eat things that slow down output when you eat meat, like pasta or rice. Eat a bit of them first and see if that helps.

Paul
MeetAnOstoMate - 28,955 members

Hi,
hey this is my first time on a forum aswell. It's not everywhere you go that your opening gambit to someone can be about your intestinal output is it!?
I've had my ileostomy just over a year now and have kind of resigned myself to the fact that it seems to have a mind of it's own whatever I eat! Emptying 7 times in an hour does sound like a hell of a lot though; you must get pretty dehydrated. I also take imodium as and when but find that sometimes it works well other times not so well....sod's law one day it'll work too well and I'll set rock solid from end to end! I've read on other forums about people taking a supplement to "thicken it all up". Personally I don't fancy eating however many bags of marshmallows and unripe bananas, so if there's something simpler on prescription that could be useful.
If I find anything out I'll let you know.....or maybe someone who reads this might have an inkling of what I'm on about.
Thinking about it, I've learnt not to risk the odd late night chicken kebab 'cos after one of those it can really pour out......still not filling 7 times an hour though.
Maybe try different meats, or a different butcher!
x

ps sorry, 7 times in 3 hours.....still a bloody lot though!
x
Whoa
Nurse

Buffy