Tips & Tricks

In this discussion
Replies
Views
vicbear13
I have had an ileostomy for almost two years now and I am still learning new things. I would love to collect clothing tips, (especially underwear) cleaning tips, perspiration issues...you get the idea.

Here is one of mine...I tried manufactured underwear but it was too bulky so I made my own. I simply took a pair of boxer briefs and made my own pocket. I sewed a small piece of material cut from an old pair of boxer briefs patterned from my ileostomy pouch, cut an opening just below the waistline to slip my pouch through and voila. Now I have a barrier between my skin and my pouch. It's basically cutting the hole in the waistline of the underwear, slipping the pouch through and covering it with the material.

Another is using antiperspirant just above my wafer so I don't sweat as much, thus not compromising the wafer's adhesion.

Who's got more ideas?

Vic
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,093 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Kathleen53

Thank you for a great tip. I too have had my ileostomy for nearly two years. My skin is always getting so sore from the pouch and I'm definitely going to try your tip of sewing in the pocket. If and when I have any great ideas to contribute, I shall certainly let you know.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
lottagelady