Exploring Odor-Controlled Disposal Options for Colostomy Care

Replies
Views
Lilbet

Hello,

I've had my colostomy a little over a month, so I'm a newbie. I am very concerned about odor. I was looking today at garbage cans that are like a diaper genie, but use regular kitchen-size bags. Is it worth the expense? How do you deal with disposal?

Thank you,

Lilbet

Justbreathe

I use the freebie plastic grocery bags - I stockpile them in a tissue box under the bathroom sink - I know, I know, plastic is bad, but most of the parts and pieces are plastic as well - what's an ostie to do? JB

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,529 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Beachboy

I use a two-piece Hollister system. Pouches come in a box with disposal bags included. Bags are long, colored, and perfect for the disposal of used wafers and pouches. I drop them in, tie a knot in the bag top, and deposit them in regular trash.

Bill

Hello Lilbet. 
Thanks for asking a very useful and practical question.

Here in the UK there are at least two suppliers that I know of that issue complimentary wipes and disposal bags with each order.  These suppliers are Coloplast and Fittleworth. I am not sure if one or both companies are in the USA,  or if they offer the same complementary items over there, but it might be worth enquiring, as these companies boast that they will supply stoma goods to almost anywhere around the world (for when we are on holiday).