Worried about returning to work after reversal.

Replies
Views
bbbrain306

Hello, 

I just had my ileostomy reversal after 14 months with it. I had the ileostomy placed because of sarcoma in my sigmoid. As a result that portion was removed and thankfully it was sphincter sparing. I did receive radiation.

My reversal is quite fresh ( Nov 20) but I am having crazy clustering. I do know it will take some time to normalize and find my new baseline function & learn to live with it.

I'm so stressed about returning to work. I work as a nurse and I love my job but I unfortunately don't have the opportunity to leave frequently and also when I want. Has anyone ever had to find a new job because of their new bowel habits?

Another thing that is stressing me out is that my body wont allow me to pass solid BMS because of scar tissue from radiation. Can anyone offer me some advice or success stories that will help settle my worries?

Thank you :)

Beachboy

That's a tough choice.  I declined reversal of my colostomy because I had prior radiation treatments for prostate cancer.  I was advised, and I researched myself, radiation causes permanent tissue damage.  Specifically healing due to decreased blood flow in intestinal tissues.  

If your reversal gives you more problems now than you had with the ileo....  You need consultations with a good surgeon and gastroenterologist to investigate options available to you.

Let us know what happens.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,626 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Footie97