Tips for adhesion and perhaps showering

Replies
Views
Kimmy050263

Hello All!

I am new to the Ostomy thing, at first all was well, but now having issues with the bag staying adhered for more than 3 days.  I have found that quite often after showering, the adhesive starts to loosen.  I have thought about purchasing a shower guard, but looking at them, not sure it will help?  My issue is at the top of the bag itself.

I am only 3 weeks out of surgery, had a large vertical incision, staples have been removed, but still have some swelling, one thing I have noticed is that my belly is all crinkly!  I am a small, petite woman.  Looking at the adhesive after placing the bag I can see it starting to pull up after a day or two.  I try to only shower in the morning and drying everything as best I can.

Any suggestions?  I have ordered some more bags from Amazon and my doctor has placed an order for me thru a medical supply company that will be covered by insurance, but I am just thinking that having to change this bag every 2-3 days is not the norm.

I appreciate any help and suggestions.

Kim

Beachboy

Hello and welcome.

I'm assuming you have a colostomy.  I had hernia repair mesh migrate and puncture my colon.  So I have a colostomy too.

My stomach looked like heck after surgery.  Took about 4 months before it started looking better/smoother.

What company makes your wafer/flange?  I use Hollister 2 piece system. 

I'm a small guy, now at one year post op.   Haven't had adhesion trouble.