Proper Terminology: Ostomy vs. Colostomy vs. Urostomy

Replies
Views
goddi11891

Greetings,

I'm relatively new to my urostomy, so I'm doing a lot of research on appliances, reviews, how-to's, YouTube videos, etc. I am having a beef with how the word 'ostomy' is thrown around. From what I understand, there are basically three types of ostomies (colostomy, ileostomy, and urostomy). When I find an article or YouTube video, etc., they use the 'ostomy' term in the title and it most always is about colostomies/ileostomies. I am hoping to find something on urostomies, but invariably, 98% of the time, it turns out not to be about urostomies. So you never can tell what the information is going to be about until you open the article. I waste so much time.

There is a tremendous amount of information on colostomies, but very little on urostomies in comparison. But it is driving me a bit crazy that the general term of 'ostomy' seems to be synonymous with 'colostomies'. Maybe I am wrong, but it makes it so difficult and time-consuming to track down information on urostomies. I can click on an 'ostomy' topic only to find it is not about urostomies, over and over again. I wish the industry and internet postings would be more mindful of the proper terms so we don't waste our time searching and not finding the topic we think it is about. Is it just me???

Just my 2 cents and blowing off a bit of steam...

Gary

HenryM

Hiya Gary:  Common problem in many areas beyond ostomies.  Language usage can get awfully lazy sometimes.  Frustrating when you're looking for specific info.  I assume colostomies and ileostomies are more common than urostomies, but that's just a guess under the circumstances.  Perhaps a good opportunity for you to fill the void, my friend.  Good luck and stay well.   HenryM

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
lovely