Seeking Replacement for Hollister 7730 - Water-Resistant Adhesive

Replies
Views
swimfit

So the title says it all really.

I've been advised by my local ostomy supplier that Hollister 7730 adhesive spray is being discontinued. I promptly phoned the local Hollister agents and they confirmed that it's a global withdrawal by the manufacturer. They didn't know why, but it's presumably either due to material regulation or because it's not profitable. I'd be happy to pay double the price - I've been buying my own supplies of 7730 for 20 years, as it only recently got approved by my provider here in Australia, and swimming and water enjoyment is worth the price to me.

So I'm now searching for alternative adhesives to use to ensure my appliance (usually stoma caps post-irrigation) remains attached during swim workouts in public swimming pools, as well as in the surf, as I live in Oz and am an active Surf Life Saver.

I wrote to Hollister appealing their decision, but in the meantime am hunting for good alternatives, even if I have to source them from overseas, as I doubt I can persuade them with a single email to change their position.

My needs are simple - and I'm sure you can all appreciate them..

1. Stay attached in the pool - without glue, a patch lasts only a few laps (once an edge starts to lift, it's over). It's a bit like showering with a bag on - the sticky wafer adhesive backing doesn't stick to wet skin, and the movement means it pulls off very quickly.

2. Not cause additional emotional discomfort to me through being more noticeable than a stoma patch (currently using Dansac Nova caps - used to use Braun Biotrol Petite but they got discontinued ugh, and Coloplast ones were too plasticky)

Adhesive alternatives found/considered so far: