Seeking advice for ileostomy pancaking issues

Replies
Views
jalrein

I've new here. Ileostomy for 2 years. I have a spinal AVM and bilateral nephrostomy tubes. With the spinal issue, I have no muscle control at my waist/bladder. Incontinence. Pancaking is a big issue. I'm looking for advice on what has worked and not worked for people regarding this. My stoma has gotten longer and wider over time yet it works normally. My home health nurse, who comes every 3 days, helps change 2 pieces every 2-3 days. I can't get more than 3 days due to breakdown of wafer from high output. Needless to say, I'm a 58-year-old mess who's looking for support and someone to discuss my issues with who can relate to what I'm dealing with. The nephrostomy tubes are a whole different story for a different day. THANK YOU TO WHOEVER READS THIS AND REPLIES...I used to be an avid amateur golfer and physically fit. Now I'm retired and learning a whole new life.....this pancaking is hurting me a lot!!!!

Beth22

Hey there.. I'm sorry. I just had to get mine revised. Got a whole new doctor; the last one didn't do my ileo right.. The pancaking, I will put a little air in the bag for me when I pancake has helped the most. A lot depends on what I eat too. What type of appliance do you use?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,480 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

jalrein
Reply to Beth22