Choosing Stoma Location for Jeans: Options and Considerations

Replies
Views
Killshot_24523

I wear a lot of jeans. My belt line is pretty low, maybe a couple inches below my waist. Do you usually get to choose the stoma location or do you get what you get? Are there reasons why one location is better than others?

Cplumber

I am a plumber and wear my jeans low. I had my stoma placed higher. Actually, the top of my stoma is in line with the bottom of my belly button and I use a shorter bag so everything falls at my belt line.

Good luck; I will be praying for you.

Cplumber

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
AlexT

I went in prior to surgery to my ostomy/wound nurse. She had me explain what I do at work, where I wear my pants, etc. She had me bend, stoop, squat, etc. She then put an X on the spot for my stoma. My stoma is pretty much right in line with my belly button, about 2 inches to the left.

Killshot_24523

Thanks everyone. I'm thinking a little below my belly button on the right side. Hopefully I'll get some guidance before surgery. I have an appointment on the 5th and surgery on the 8th. Can't say I'm not a little worried, but all the positive outcomes I read make me think I can continue living like I do now. Only without cancer, I hope.

AlexT
Reply to Killshot_24523

Good luck. As soon as they were done slicing and dicing me, I was cancer-free. You'll get a little nervous every time before having scans or blood work but that's normal.

How to Manage Emotions with LeeAnne Hayden | Hollister
Bryce

Suggest taking an indelible magic marker with you when you see the ET Nurse. The Surgeon will thank you when he (she) sees the X. Good luck!

HenryM