Relocating to Spain from the UK

Replies
Views
JodieG

Hi, I had surgery 5 weeks ago amd trying to come to terms with my stoma. My output is high which I'm trying to resolve with the doctors. I nad open surgery and a number of complications and ended up in intensive care for 3 weeks. 

My weight is dropping since I'm not retaining nutrients and again we are trying to resolve that.

I was due to relocate to Spain with my family for work, the day I was rushed in to hospital.  We have to go as qe boughy a house and have our visa's etc, however I'm going to stay in the UK for 8 weeks alone for my recovery.

Does anyone know I register with a stoma nurse in Spain and arrange for my supplies etc once I am there? 

Thanks

Jodie

truleigh

Hi Jodie.

I live in Spain in the Alicante area. I am a resident for ten years and a pensioner so have Spanish government healthcare. I had surgery for a bowel blockage in January and I am on preventative chemo. If you come to Spain I expect you will have to have private healthcare as part of your visa. I received excellent care and see a stoma nurse . My local hospital sends me to the local private hospital for Pet scans and that also is excellent. 

I get my supplies on prescription from my farmacia every two weeks and pay a nominal amount. I am sure once you arrive in Spain and register with a doctor you will find out how to get yours. I am not sure how the private healthcare insurance system works but where In live we have various Ex-pat centres who can advise on all aspects of living in Spain. 

I hope you are feeling better soon. On the subject of high output I enjoy a night out at one of the many Chinese restaurants here as noodles work wonders!.

Hang in there it takes a while to recover. Hope you feel well enough to come here soon.

regards Pam

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,615 members. Get inside and you will see.