Tincture of Opium

Replies
Views
janice

My doctor prescribed tincture of opium to try to slow down my ileostomy output. I had a heck of a time trying to find a pharmacy that would even fill the script. I finally found one, but they have to order it. It should be in tomorrow.
Has anyone used this? Does it work? Can I get addicted to it?

tarababy
Hi Janice, I'm interested in this medication you have been prescribed... Is it meant to help slow your bowel down? If so, then I'm REALLY interested... I have been using Codeine now for over 20 years. I am so addicted to it that I can't go any longer than a few days without them. I get so sick. I am on 6 to 8 a day... If there was any chance there was something out there that could do the same or better job... maybe minus the addiction, but then that could be pushing my luck... I would give it a go... Mind you, being here in Australia, it might be ten years before we are allowed it... lol... Anyway, I will be keeping a close eye on your post for some answers... thank you so much... Take care... Tara.
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,365 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

janice

Tara, yes, the doctor says it should slow down my bowels. I'm kind of apprehensive about how addictive it may be but, hey....if it works, it will be worth it to spend less time on the toilet! I'll let you know how it works.
I've been on opiates (pill form) and they do nothing to slow it down. Hopefully, this will work.

facingmyfears
Hi Janice,