Surprise Ostomy

Replies
Views
Raydog

Hi folks. I am not very good at this, but here goes. On New Years Eve , I had been out snow plowing my daughte's , and my son's driveway. I got home about miidnight, and proceeded to go inside, and go to bed. I was in reasonable good health, with the exception of what I thought was bronchitis. When I woke up, I was in hospital, with penomonia, and two purferations in my large bowel. Needles to say, I almost died. After 7 weeks in an enduced coma, I finally woke up. WOW!What was I doing in a hospital, and what happened to me?I couldn't talk because I had been intubulated in my hometown hospital, and they did nothing but screw my larnyx up. I couldn't even talk ta ask my family what had happened to me. When I looked up all I could see was 8 machines on me. I was told that I had been on life support for 2 weeks. To make a long story short, I had the re-connection done, but it didn't take, and i was rushed in for emergency surgery 10 daays later, fo have the rest of my large bowel removed. That was 2 years ago, and by reading your posts, It gets me through my day. I literally went throughliving hell for the first year. I think the hardest thing for me to get over, was embarassement when I was with family for an occasion, and I had a mal-function with my flang, and depression. I was 65 years old, and am a very proud man. When I was in hospital, I went through 25 flange changes in 2 days.OUCH. Nothing but bloodI am doing very well now, but still not too old to learn.lol. Thanks to all ffor listening.

Bill

Hello Raydog.

Thanks for posting your story as it was interesting, enlightening and a damned good read, even if it does sound like something out of a nightmare or horror story.  Now that the worst is over, I hope everything continues to go well for you in future. 

Best wishes 

Bill 

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,362 members. Get inside and you will see.