Emptying

Replies
Views
FreddyD

Hello All,

I am a recent stoma newbie and I was wondering if anyone has the need to empty quite often?

I probably empty mine about 10 - 11 times a day. Thanks in advance

Bill

Hello Freddy.

Thanks for posting. In trying to address this question it would be useful to know if you have a colostomy or an ileostomy.
I have a colostomy and at the beginning I was emptying the bag that frequently, which is one of the reasons I switched to irrigation. 
Best wishes

Bill

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,529 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

JVM261
Reply to Bill

I would guess an ileostomy I was averaging 11 times a day at the beginning and now with control of my diet. I think I’m around seven times a day. I could be wrong. I know that antibiotics and sugar and caffeine make everything worse. More liquid output, more frequent emptying. I mean, of course most people know this I’m here, but that was my experience. It still is especially with sweet stuff. Low residue seems to Help in the passage of time. Somebody had told me four months, but I am longer than that. I think around six months and it’s just starting to taper a bit... Somebody on here recommended me psyllium husk. I Take three tablets on very liquid days an hour before eating.

Ben38