Ileostomy Reversal finally done

Welcome to MeetAnOstoMate
The Largest Online Ostomy Community
with 16,301 Members
Watch MeetAnOstoMate Video
  Past Member
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:54 am
Hi folks,
I was a newbie to the site last year when I underwent an emergency Ileostomy and the doctors were surprised that I had no prior symptoms or illness other than the ones I presented them with on the day.   I havent been too good this last few months so havent been online much.

I spent nearly two months in hospital from July 1st last year, I felt abandoned by my gp and dietician and gradually over the months I lost two stone in weight and by the end of it I couldnt stand the taste of food as it was like cardboard!  

In January this year, I visited my gp and told them that for months I have become more and more light headed and breathless, their comment - what do you want me to do'?  That afternoon I struggled to walk back to my car let alone along my street once parked and by the time the weekend came I collapsed in my home and spent ten minutes on the floor crying.

My partner - who has been so distant up to this point - phoned the emergency doctor service and I ended up back in hospital... I was dehydrated, had low blood pressure (which was since my last op), was underweight and was so tired and lacking energy I couldnt even look after myself.  They fed me up and I managed to speak to my consultant to relay the fears I had regarding my ileostomy reversal not being done to my being so ill.  He reassured me that he would not only do the reversal the following week but he had also found I had gall stones (again no symptoms) so it would be a double operation.

In some ways I miss the bags as I had become so used to having two bags on my stomach with an open wound, but after a months stay in hospital and my wound now clean and dry I have been discharged from the district nurse and I am trying to get back on track and mobile.