ConvaTec - Moldable Technology
ConvaTec - OstoMySecrets
Meet and talk to 19,447 OstoMates.
Meet and talk to 19,447 OstoMates.
Not your typical ostomy website. See why

Upcoming Ileostomy surgery and weight

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:33 pm

Hi Everybody

I am new to this page and I have some questions regarding the weight gain/loss after an ileostomy surgery.

I have crohn's since 2009 and my first ileostomy surgery will be within 3 months. The idea is that it will be for 6 months but i have been warned that it might be permanent.

Never had an issue with flare ups that i lost alot of weight. Maybe 1 or 2 kg at most. I

I do have problems with maintaining my weight, especially after the long term prednisone i had 3 years ago. Gained 10kg and only lost 2kg of those. Permanently destroyed my weight loss ability. Sad

I am 176cm and 92kg so obviously i am overweight.

Now i am reading all these horrible stories about huge weight gain. How common is this problem, what chance is there that it will happen to me and is there something i can do to prevent this?

Hope someone can help me.

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:32 am

To be honest, I've heard a lot of stories about people gaining weight after ileostomy surgery.  I gained quite a bit after my surgery nearly two years ago, it was somewhere in the range of 30-40 pounds (14-18 kg).  In my case, it was due to the fact that there wasn't much I could eat before surgery, and after, my diet was almost completely opened up.  After a couple of years with limitations, I seriously overate when I was able.  Granted, I really needed to put some of that weight back on, but not that much.

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:18 pm

Tire,  never had an issue gaining and keeping on weight after or since my surgery 22 years ago.  Good luck I will be praying for you

chris

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:46 pm