Showering with Ostomy Bag: Tips for Protection

Replies
Views
raynelson515

I am new to the ostomy world and wondering if I can shower with the ostomy bag on and if so, do I need to protect the bag or the seal from the water? If so, how?
Ray

HenryM

You will get a dozen different replies to your question here.  My own method is to have a shower with a removable spray head, keep my back turned to the spray so it doesn't directly go on my bag, soap up all over, use a washcloth to cleanse the chest, spritz the soap off everywhere else with the handheld sprayer.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,455 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Justbreathe

My advice is - gently rip off that bag and jump in - wash everything but stoma itself - pat dry ; V I O L A
On days when you don't change bag - it'll hold up to a good washing as well - ; I can stay in the pool for hours with no problem - I'll bet it could even go through a car wash !

AlexT

You can shower just like normal with your bag on. I do it every day except the days I change my bag, and then I shower with no bag on.

Mark1070