Redness and Cuts Under Wafer - Need Help!

Replies
Views
Family12
Jun 18, 2014 2:29 pm

I am trying to get a hold of my stoma nurse, but no return. I am red and bleeding a bit under my wafer at the bottom. It's burning because of the cuts. What to do with this? I can't go without any wafer to get some air on it, what suggestions would you give me.

Mrs.A
Jun 18, 2014 3:27 pm

Hi Family12,

I am not a doctor or nurse but here are some ideas I have learned over my ostomy time.

If you need to just air yourself, I use a plastic shopping bag or two, then a towel, then a shopping bag or two, then some paper towels or disposable towels, an old t-shirt, whatever I have. Sometimes I put peroxide on a towel and pat my stoma with it to clean the area that is bleeding. Bleeding is common for many of us and it will stop. I'm not sure why you would have any "cuts," but if you hurt your skin in some way, then a call to the nurse is a good idea. More than anything, don't panic; stress can increase the blood flow.

This is a link to an article about bleeding from the American College of Surgeons:

http://www.facs.org/patienteducation/skills/problem-solving.pdf

Some folks apply stoma powder as well in what is called crusting for wet, irritated skin. It goes like this: clean the area with warm water and dry, dust with stoma powder directly on irritated skin, use a no-sting barrier pad and blot or dab gently directly onto the powder, allow to dry for 10-15 seconds, pouch as usual. Some folks repeat the process a second time also.

Cold water and/or ice is also a quick fix to help stop bleeding and add some pressure, but be gentle.

Hope this comforts you until you reach your nurse.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.