Help with gas, foam, and sour smell in ileo discharge

Replies
Views
Katman
Hello everyone... I'm a newbie ostomate with some awkward questions about food and the aftermath. I'm a Crohn's patient of 20+ years who finally had my first surgery at the end of September, leaving me with a "temporary ileostomy." I've appreciated reading the forums as it let me know I'm not alone... and you've given me some great lines for when people ask where I've been!

Anyway, the question... I know that we have to be careful with food, and chew, chew, chew... And I also know that we are all a little different. I've searched the forum and only found one similar topic...

Lately, I've been having a lot of gas (always at night!!!), a lot of foam (always at night and early morning), and a very sour/fermenting smell to my discharge. I have played around with what I am eating and I can't seem to nail down what might be causing it. I've tried adding/deleting yogurts, probiotics, milk products, sugars, and veggies... Can't seem to nail it down.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as it wakes me up about every 1-2 hours with a "football bag," and is a little disconcerting.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts and solutions...

Katman
Past Member

Your ileostomy is fairly new, it may just need a bit of time for the "foam" to settle down.

I used to get the "froth" and gas in the beginning, particularly after any type of dairy products, and always overnight and never during the day. Sometimes, it felt like the stoma was creating its own milkshakes in there!

But I haven't experienced that for ages (and I still eat dairy regularly now).

Sorry, not much help, but I'm sure other ileos can offer some advice.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,724 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.