Need advice on protecting my stoma at work

Replies
Views
foxbody
Hi everyone

I had my ileostomy surgery on January 26 and now have returned to work on March 27. I asked my doctor about guards for my stoma and he suggested I talk to my stoma nurse. She has not returned my calls. My job, much like other people's, is very physical. I ordered and received a stoma guard from Stomaplex. We had to adapt another belt over it to make it work and to be somewhat comfortable. My question is, how protective do I have to be of my stoma? Is it the stoma itself that I have to protect, or is it the bag and appliance? Or is it everything together? Thank you for any suggestions and help you are able to pass on to me. Ed
ash1712

You could always try a neoprene weight lifting belt for extra support. But I work in a warehouse and my ostomy belt's fine for the type of heavy lifting I have to do.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,473 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

christiesdad

Ash is right on that. Most people tend to worry too much about what can happen. It's no big deal really. I asked my doctor what all could I do afterwards and he told me, "anything you feel like." First thing I did was climb up in my attic and repair the duct work for my air conditioning!

You just have to use common sense.

Good luck!

skidder

Happy Easter Foxbody, Skidder here.