Seeking Advice: Menopause Symptoms with an Ileostomy - Any Similar Experiences?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
Dixie1

Obviously, this question is for the ladies on the forum.

I am hoping someone out there can help me. I have had my ileostomy since I was 10 weeks old - all of my life. I am now in my early 40s and believe I am beginning to experience symptoms of menopause or perimenopause. To the extreme.

I have been tracking everything for the last 6 months, and after 3 months of Jekyll and Hyde behavior that is ruining my friendship with my best friend and impacting my work, I went to the doctor. He prescribed Yaz birth control pills and I have been on those for 3 months. There are some changes for the better.

What I still seem to be experiencing are the wild mood swings, from the depths of despair, depression to full-blown anxiety attacks.

My friend suggested I pose the question here, given the major surgeries we have had and the major altering of our insides, has anyone else experienced stronger than normal menopause?

I am, after a lot of consideration, considering anxiety medication to get me calmed down to where I can think rationally and start feeling myself again.

I would really appreciate anyone else's views on this and what, if anything, works.

Thank you for reading my post.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,100 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

notexpectingthis