Blowouts and Juice: Any Connection?

Replies
Views
gutenberg
Greetings fellow ostimates, here's wishing you all the best or the best you can expect, I've had my ileostomy for ten years and just lately I've started having blowouts and lucky for me they didn't cause much damage,. except for changing the flange more often. My question has to do with hydration and I always make sure I have plenty to drink, but my drinks are mostly apple juice and mostly in the winter, during the hot summer I will consume plenty of ice water. What really nags me is my doctor tells me to cut out the apple juice which I have been drinking for the last five years or so and find it hard to believe its only now affecting me and causing the blowouts. Now I'd just like to know if others are into drinking juice and having any problems, so here's thanking you in advance, Ed
dixied10

Hi Ed... I had my colostomy in April 2012, so everything is new to me, but I am interested in what others have to say. Right now, I only drink cold green teas like peach tea, raspberry tea, etc. I haven't even tried any carbonated drinks yet. Good luck.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,574 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

vikinga

I drink juice, including apple juice...no problem that I have been aware of. I don't quite understand how that would cause a blowout.

apguy