Dealing with Ostomy Odor & Noise: Need Advice!

Replies
Views
Little Stinker

Hello, I'm new to all of this. I got the ostomy a week and a half ago. I'm still housebound but hope to be able to socialize again soon! My problem is I am a really self-conscious person and my bag is putting off loud toots and very smelly. I fear I will never have confidence in public. Help anyone? TI A

Homie With A Stomie NS

Morning Little Stinker and welcome to our awesome group...

I am and was just like you, hun, but after talking to my ostomy nurse and her suggesting a very simple fix for the toot smell, I now venture out whenever warranted.

Simply place a sticker over your filter on your pouch. This blocks the smellies and reduces ballooning as well. Empty yourself, place the filter, allow a little air in the bag, and this should help. You will see you're comfortable enough to go out....

You got this.

Tracy

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,468 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

AlexT

If your bag is smelly when you're not emptying it/have it open, you need to change something with your setup. You can add lubricant/deodorant to your bag to reduce/eliminate odors. As far as noise, that's not your bag, that's you. Might need to tweak your diet a bit to eliminate the gas.

SallyK

Welcome to the group. If your pouch is sealed well and you are using a deodorant made specially for ostomy pouches, there should be no smell. As far as the 'toots' go, you might want to change your diet to eat less gas-causing foods. Good luck.

AlexT
Reply to SallyK