First Blog: Winter Woes & Ostomy Questions

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses experiences and offers advice on managing ostomy-related challenges during the winter season.
mooza

Heya, this is my first ever blog. Hmmm, so my diary, right?!!!

Captions log Aug-9th - Melbourne is so cold. I'm wondering if there is medication for this bad winter weather. Ugh, I hate winter so much. And since it's nearly spring (if we even have a spring), LOLOL, today it snowed up in the Alps here. Been there, done that, fun. Yes, fall, hell yeah. Did I like it? Yes, but not at nighttime waiting to go out to bars. Hehehe, okay.....

If I can help anyone with ostomy questions, I will sure try. I'm not a doctor or a stn nurse, but I do work (volunteer) at my Ostomy Association. It might be volunteering, but really it's a way of understanding, talking to other members who are all ostomates of some sort or another. And I did and still do ask questions, like "what's that for?" and "how does that work?" and "really, you have 3? Wow!" But it is real work, taking orders from picking them to nowadays working in the office. I call that the complaints department, and I really wish our Association was fully managed and some of us actually being paid a wage. It's so much of a job, but my body isn't always willing to get me through the rostered days I go to work. And 5 hours of office work can be more than I really can handle because the volunteers pass the buck too many times. Sick of being abused even when I'm not rostered for 5 days. But the best is to hear about the great outcomes of people who like to pop in, pick up their supplies, and to all the people I have gotten to know. And each month, they are looking healthier and happier. Okay, just thought as I have tried to blog before but had no idea what I was doing until I actually looked at what to do. Sorry, I do jump all over this site and haven't followed up on who's doing what and blah blah. Reefus is having her reve