Stoma size increase and bleeding, is it normal?

Replies
Views
Kaylakaykes

Hey guys, I'm very new to the ostomy life. I had my ileostomy 5 weeks ago. I noticed the other day that my stoma has gotten bigger. Is that normal? It just seems larger on the right hand side. It has me very confused. I've had a slight bit of bleeding underneath too. Obviously with Covid the nurse can't call out so I'm freaking slightly.

Any and all advice would be amazing x

iMacG5

Hi Kayla.  Please consider this reply as accurate but insufficient to fully satisfy your concern.  Stomas can change size, especially when they're new.  Stomas bleed easily but usually stop bleeding rather quickly.  If the appliance is just a little on the tight side it could cause bleeding.  I think there's nothing to worry about but suggest you talk with your surgeon then you'll feel way better.

Respectfully,

Mike

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,482 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Maried

Mine changes size sometimes; it is large at times and other times it shrinks. The dangerous issues are major changes in color; stomas are usually a range of red to pink. Pain and heavy bleeding occur. Stomas bleed easily when touched too hard, but it should not be heavy and should stop pretty quickly.

Past Member

Hi Kayla,