Countdown to Surgery: Fear, Ostomy, and Weight Loss

Replies
Views
singinac
It is November 1, 2013 and my surgery is on the 14th. I'm trying so hard to be positive, but my fear is intense. I do not know yet if I will need a temporary or permanent ostomy. I go to the stoma nurse for markings and have final consult on November 6th.
My cancer is very very low in my rectum just about 1.5 mm from sphincter muscle, so the surgeon is not sure if she can protect the integrity of the reversal and that I might not be able to regain control and could be facing fecal incontinence forever. I am 51 and this is my biggest fear. Would I be better choosing a permanent ostomy and not have to deal with the public embarrassment. I am also a professional singer and terrified that I could have an accident on stage.
One other question.....How much weight should I anticipate losing from this operation????
I am very new to all of this and am so happy to have found this site to reach out to all of you.
So thank you for taking the time to answer me back, I'm sure this is just the beginning of my journey.
Juuust_James