Seeking Advice on Reversal Surgery for Colostomy

Replies
Views
Jemmy

I am a 59-year-old female who has gone to hell and back with Crohn's disease. Spending most of 2015 and 2016 in the hospital, 4 colon resections later, I have a colostomy that I have had for 3 years. My colorectal surgeons refuse to reverse me, saying I would go right back to being as sick as I was. I also work as an R.N. in a doctor's office and he is opposed as well. My family is against it too. I have found a surgeon who is willing to do it. Surgery is scheduled for January 16th. She said if I did get sick like I was before, she would reverse me back and it would be permanent. I don't want to be selfish, and I have taken their feelings into consideration, but they are not living on the other end of this bag!

Any thoughts?

Past Member

Wow, Jemmy... You're right that the decision is yours...not anyone else's. You're not being selfish, and your family is just worried about you because they love you. I can sure understand that you'd be willing to do just about anything to be normal again. So would I. But...I think you have to consider the odds. From what you wrote, the odds aren't too much in your favor and the most you would likely be accomplishing is a temporary delay in the inevitable, with an extra surgery..or two that you will have to go through thrown in. What did the surgeon who agreed to do the reversal say about the odds of your getting sick again the way you were? That is what I would most want to know...my exact odds. I'm not much of a gambler, but sometimes it does pay off, I guess. I know this doesn't help much, but try to get some clear odds on its permanent success. Then decide how much of a gambler you are and whether it's worth it or not. Good luck on whatever your decision turns out to be. I DO understand your dilemma. Linda

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,466 members. Get inside and you will see.